International Day of the Book

Today is the international day of the book. 3 years ago I did the crazy thing of starting my PhD in New Media. In one of my lonely study trips at the School of Arts & New Media I had written a post entitled “The Book is Social”. Over the years, iPad and Kindle became more mainstream. Both these tools could be seen as a threat to the publishing industry. Just today, I had a discussion with an advocate of the book in its original state. However, these tools make it much easier for us to read together. On Kindle for instance I can read the book on multiple devices, share notes, highlight favourite quotes and share all this instantly. Just like the old days when publishing was too expensive to be afforded by the mass, and reading happened in public spaces.

The 2010 post can be found here http://wp.me/pOaVr-6E

 

Leave a comment